# FRATERNITY & SORORITY LIFE AWARDS 2015-2016

The Fraternity and Sorority Awards are designed to provide an objective assessment of a chapter's performance. The evaluation process for these awards is completed through active reporting and nominations that are submitted online. This process is implemented not as a competition, but as a way for every chapter to measure their growth as an organization on an annual basis. The opportunity for recognition is provided to chapters that excel in the areas of academics, service, and Greek unity.

## **Distinguished Chapters**

Distinguished Chapter honors are given only to chapters who earn high marks in all five areas of focus on the Stockton accreditation program, the Growth & Recognition Plan: academic achievement, leadership development, chapter operations, programming, and risk reduction. This year's recipients of Chapter of Distinction are:

Delta Zeta Sigma Sigma Sigma

#### **Greek Academic Award**

Delta Delta Delta Delta Zeta Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

### **Greek Service Award**

Sigma Sigma Sigma Sigma Alpha Epsilon

## **Greek Philanthropy Award**

Delta Delta Delta Kappa Sigma

#### **Greek Community Award**

Sigma Sigma Sigma Matthew LaCava, Alpha Phi Delta

#### **Outstanding Chapter Program**

"Pray For Hensle", Kappa Sigma (Philanthropy)

"Mind Your P's & Q's", Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. (Education & Awareness)

## **Outstanding New Member**

Daniel Donovan, Sigma Beta Rho Fraternity, Inc.

## **Outstanding Chapter Advisor**

Paula Guzman-Bell, Zeta Tau Alpha

## **Outstanding Chapter President**

Taylor Marchal, Sigma Sigma Sigma

Panhellenic Woman of the Year (Chosen by the Stockton Panhellenic Council)

Samantha Jerry, Delta Zeta

## FRATERNITY & SORORITY LIFE AWARDS 2015-2016

#### Greek Man of the Year

Jayson Cabrera, Lambda Sigma Upsilon Latino Fraternity, Inc.

#### **Greek Woman of the Year**

Liana Buccino, Zeta Tau Alpha

#### **Greek Leaders of Distinction**

Carl Archut Jr., Kappa Sigma
Anthony Beadling, Kappa Sigma
Carlie Cattafi, Delta Delta Delta
Dominique DeFilippis, Sigma Sigma Sigma
Ike Ejikeme, Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.
Joseph Isola, Kappa Sigma
Samantha Jerry, Delta Zeta
Tyrell Jones, Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.
Kelli Murray, Delta Delta
Octavius Obey, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

### **Chapter Accolades**

## Alpha Phi Delta

- Received national organization's Outstanding Chapter Award
- Ranked #2 in national Greek Lemonade War fundraiser for Alex's Lemonade Stand, receiving national organization's Outstanding Community Service Award

#### Delta Phi Epsilon

- o Ranked #3 (out of 105 chapters) in national accreditation (5 star status)
- Received national organization's **Scholarship Excellence Award**, Most Active on Campus Award, and Outstanding Recruitment Programming Award

#### Delta Zeta

Ranked #3 (out of 165 chapters) in national organization for GPA

#### Kappa Sigma

- Received Founders Circle Award (top 12 out of 410 chapters)
- o Ranked #1 nationally in service hours during last biennium
- Ranked #1 in national ritual competition
- Top 5 percentile chapter in all 5 executive board categories

#### Zeta Tau Alpha

 Received national organization's Scholastic Achievement Award & ZTA Foundation Founders Club Award

#### **Individual Accolades**

• Ashley Nevarez ('17) was recognized as the national "Heart of the Sea" **Undergraduate of the Year** by Lambda Tau Omega Sorority, Inc. In addition, she also received the Scholarly Lambda award.

# FRATERNITY & SORORITY LIFE AWARDS 2015-2016

- Jayson Cabrera ('17) was recognized as the national "Neophyte of the Year", an award for a new member who has contributed greatly to Lambda Sigma Upsilon Latino Fraternity, Inc.
- Alyssa Enny ('16) received the Outstanding Senior Award from Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority for region 1 (northeast U.S.).
- Tyrell Jones ('16) was selected as the new New Jersey State Director for Iota Phi Theta Fraternity,
   Inc.
- Ellis Bonds ('15) was selected as the new National Director of Recruitment for Lambda Sigma
  Upsilon Latino Fraternity, Inc.
- Carl Archut Jr. ('16) of Kappa Sigma received the Stockton Spirit Award & the Dean of Students Award.
- 2016 Stockton **L.E.A.D. Award** recipients included Carl Archut Jr. (Kappa Sigma '16), Liana Buccino (Zeta Tau Alpha '16), & Kelli Murray (Delta Delta '16).
- 2016 Stockton Student Senator of the Year was awarded to Emily Zeck ('16) of Sigma Sigma Sigma.
- Samantha Jerry ('17) of Delta Zeta was awarded Stockton University Student Leader of the Year.